How do you feel about "Ultimate fighting?"

by free2beme 25 Replies latest jw friends

• free2beme
    free2beme

Because I turned a lot of attention to martial arts, after leaving the Witnesses, I got a lot of connections with people in the martial arts and fighting world. I have sense stopped training, after many years and black belts. I just got sick of it, and wanted to do something else. In that time, I have seen ultimate fighting go from something you saw on television to something we do in my own town. About a year ago, I got a call from my old sensei, saying that he needed some judges and wanted to pull in some of his old black belts to judge. Now keep in mind, when I was into martial arts, I did it for the skill, the discipline, and the knowledge. I did not enjoy the actual harming of another person, unless it was defense and even then, that was not something that brought be joy either. So to me, the skill was to be respected. So I go down to judge and this is my first time seeing ultimate fighting first hand. I was judging with a five other people, men and woman. We are next to a cage and people come in and fighting one another. They do not use boxing gloves, they use gloves that basically looking like bicycle gloves with a small amount of padding at the knuckles (I stress small). The rules are basically ...

1. No strikes to the grown

2. No strikes to the back of the head or spine

The winner is decided by ...

1. Knock out

2. Submission

3. Tapping out (When you give up)

4. Ref Calls it, something wrong

5. Judge decision at end of 3-5 round.