Have you studied "Church History" to know that Christians murdered many?

by booker-t 26 Replies latest watchtower bible

• booker-t
    booker-t

I am a college student working on my BA degree. I recently graduated with my "AA" degree and I just fell in love with school. At 40 I don't mind going to school with 19-20 year olds. Being around them helps keep me young. But in one of my social science classes I did research on Church history and I was amazed to find out that Christians are not as "innocent" as they portray. Many people were murdered by the Church if they did not believe in church doctrine. The charge was "Hearesy" and many were burned at the stake for refusing to believe in the Trinity doctrine. Many women were accused of being "Witches" and tortured severly. When you bring this up to Church members today they will try and wiggle out of this by saying " that is in the past" we live in the present. But these same born-agains will condemn JW's and Mormons for all of the past crimes of the WTS and Mormon church. What is the difference? For years I used that feel sorry for Christians and thought they were so persecuted because of Christians that were thrown to lions, and other things that happened to Christians. But now I feel Christians are just as evil as people they condemn.

• Gretchen956
    Gretchen956

Hi Booker,
    The thing about generalizations is, you will always be speaking truth about a segment of whatever population you are referring to. Sometimes that number is very small, sometimes its very large. With christians that may depend on where you live. But I have personally met some very fine christians, two in particular on this discussion board.