Is abortion an unforgivable sin?

by e_louise 20 Replies latest watchtower beliefs

• e_louise
    e_louise

Hi all i'm a newbie with a question:

Please ban you tell me if an unbaptized publisher has an abortion is this an unforgivable sin?

What would happen to the publisher if another JW reports them or they confess since they are not baptized?

• lovelylil
    lovelylil

Hi, Welcome to the board.

If you are an unbaptized publisher you cannot be disfellowshiped. Maybe the elders may speak with you if they find out you had an abortion.

Personally I do not feel that having an abortion is an unforgiveable sin. According to the bible the only unforgivable sin is to sin against God's holy spirit and there are different interpretations as to what that means but it is not having an abortion. Peace be with you, Lilly

• DaCheech
    DaCheech

Jesus forgave the murderers/thiefs that died on the cross next to him

• restrangled
    restrangled

I have no idea if its is unforgivable. Perhaps that is up to the individual having to deal with the dilema.

I know several people in my life that had to get abortions and it was not an easy matter to handle.

I can relay one story because it was many years ago. One of my best friends in highschool got pregnant and my mom, a devout jw, took her with me to a gyno. After my best friend found out she was pg. had the procedure done. She became so depressed afterward, told me she felt like commiting suicide.

I felt I could trust my mom and told her of my best friend's feelings. My mom promptly called her mother and reported all. Her mother was not pleased that my mother had broken the trust and told her to get lost.

Ofcourse my best friend was furious and never spoke to me again for the rest of my High School life.

This girl went on to marry the man she had that abortion with and had 4 more children.