Ok, about the blood in chocolate thing. As a die hard chocoholic I feel compelled to clear up this misconception.
When I was a child, we received a box of chocolates from non-witness relatives at Christmas. Yippee, I said. My dad read the ingredients. They included lecithin. We were not allowed to eat anything that contained lecithin as this was believed by witnesses to be another term for blood, similiar to "by- products" in sausage meets. This was in fact a partial truth. Maybe there is some type of lecithin that is derived from blood, I don't know. However, lecithin used in commercial baking products and candies and ice cream and chocolate milk is derived from soy. In the past, companies did not clarify this on their ingredients label. Now, most of them do, in Canada, anyway. Because, it wasn't specified that the lecithin was derived from soy, witnesses wouldn't eat many cookies, cakes, and candies because they might contain BLOOD! oooooh. We were not allowed to eat fortune cookies once for the same reason when I was a kid.Now, if you are wondering how witnesses can take a little bit of fact, embellish it and then twist it into an urban legend that makes no sense, just think about 607, 1914, and blood transfusions! Makes sense now doesn't it?
I am still pissed off about those chocolates my dad threw away. It's the food of the God's ya know!