Education

by dinah 15 Replies latest jw friends

• dinah
    dinah

This is one of my pet peeves about the Society.

Drilling it into our heads that an education is useless in a world that is coming to an abrupt end--ANY DAY NOW!

I graduated high school 7th in a class of 118. Guess what? I worked at McDonald's. Yep. Worked my way up to management. A whole whopping $7/hr to get up at 3 am and open the store, then have to work until 3am on my next shift. Sleep deprivation, nervous breakdown, back pain from harrington rods placed for scoliosis when I was 14. Totally blew my back out.

For what? An end that is still looming?

I didn't want to be rich. I would liked to have done something postive to help people. Banging on doors, IMHO, doesn't help anyone.

Let's not even mention the deprived childhood of not being able to do anything that even resembled normal.

It just makes me mad. I keep thinking of going back to school, but really don't know if I could handle it. I can't sit or stand very long at a time because of pain. But my brain is aching for something!! (and so is my pocketbook).

• OpenFireGlass
    OpenFireGlass

WORD...

• zagor
    zagor

Banging on doors, IMHO, doesn't help anyone

Correction, it does help Watchtower publishing corporation lol

But seriously I fully understand what you're talking about. 12 years ago I was on my way to complete engineering degree but stopped it because of my mom being under pressure for letting me go. In last couple of years (after leaving wtbs) I've reenrolled, completed my degree and now I'm about to start doing my small phd.

But my brain is aching for something!! (and so is my pocketbook).