Is it easy to fade...???

by Balaams Ass 34 Replies latest jw friends

• Balaams Ass
    Balaams Ass

Any comments or advice gratefully recieved. Diehard pioneer wife etc... BA

• vitty
    vitty

My husband and I have been fading for 2 years now..........but we moved from our old town. We still havent told our friends and family that we dont go anymore, but I think they are starting to guess.

They just dont talk about it. Fortunately my hubby and I found out together so theres no problem between us.

I dont think there is an easy way to get out for anyone, although it is harder for some than others

• Legolas
    Legolas

Welcome to the board!

I heard that the 'depression' card works well.

• Inquisitor
    Inquisitor

Hello Balaam's Ass!

Welcome to JWD! How did you come by that nick?

I am a fader who's played the "higher education makes high demands of my time" card. They shake their heads at me for sure, but there is little they can do. It's easy for them to fall for that cos that's EXACTLY what they want to hear about pursuing tertiary education.

Legolas' suggestion might work from the sounds of it. Especially since you are married to a zealous pioneer? Did I understand that bit correctly?

INQ

• luna2
    luna2

Depression works very well, as does vague answers to questioning. Claims of spiritual weakness and needing to work things out are hard to refute. You have to deal with busybodies wanting to "help" somewhat (depending on how many people in your congo give a hoot). I wasn't faking it when I did this but I probably could have. A bit harder when the spouse is doing the questioning.

If you don't mind lying, you could develop debilitating migraine headaches that prevent you from attending meetings often.

• Dismembered
    Dismembered

Greetings Balaams Ass