Will DA'ing myself be better for my children's future?

by indoubt 34 Replies latest jw friends

• indoubt
    indoubt

BACKGROUND

I have been fading away, and considered fully "inactive" for over 2 years now. My wife is still a very active JW, and she brings my 2 children (5 & 3) to the meetings and service on a regular basis.

I do not want to force the kids to stay home, as I believe this would be as wrong as JWs forcing their kids to come to meetings. Instead, my wife and I have an agreement that she won't preach (i.e. study) with them. Currently the kids like to go to meetings mostly because there are a lot of kids of their age there.

THE ISSUE

I originally did not want to DA myself because I wanted to keep some kind of relationship with my family and friends in the JWs. But I realize that my JW friends, and even some of my own family are gradually shunning/marking me (even though I have not shared my feelings about the Borg to any of them).

At the same time, my children - especially my oldest - are wondering why I don't go to meetings. I simply tell them that I don't like to go because I do not share the same beliefs. My fear is that the kids will see me as an undecided person, when I am really dead set on never being a JW again.

So I thought about this possible scenario: what if I DA myself? I believe 2 good things would come out of this: (1) My children will clearly see my position vis-a-vis the JW religion, and (2) as they will grow older, they will also hopefully notice that something is really wrong with a religion that forbids my parents, sister, in-laws to have a relationship with me just because we do not share the same beliefs.

What do you guys think? Can anyone in the same situation relate their experience and suggestions?

Thanks in advance,

--indoubt

• Emma
    Emma