They didn't know 18 to 20 years ago, that pedophiles were harmful?

by horrible life 53 Replies latest watchtower child-abuse

• horrible life
    horrible life

http://www.jw-media.org/vnr/2122827332/717263.htm

They just didn't know. That explains it all. They just didn't know, that it would be harmful to a child. They just didn't realize that it would have "longterm" effects on a child.

20 years ago, I was in college. 30 years ago, I graduated high school. 40 years ago, I could have told you that a child being raped at home, church, etc, by a trusted person, would have "longterm" effects.

Who the hell is this person? Is she a witness?

• MidwichCuckoo
    MidwichCuckoo

Looks to me that The Watchtower is 'juggling' a quote by an expert in the field to suit a purpose.

• horrible life
    horrible life

When I would babysit, 35 years ago, my father would not allow the man to bring me home. I thought he was crazy way back then. I did, and do, the same with my daughter today.

hmmmmm Just made me think. Maybe my elder dad knew things wayyyy back then, about people in the congragation. I only babysat for witnesses.

• avishai
    avishai

Oh, geez, no, they did'nt know that. That's why they had laws on the books in 17th century Europe against this kind of behavior.

• MidwichCuckoo
    MidwichCuckoo

Makes me wonder why the Watchtower NEEDS to put that sort of stupid quote on its information site.

• bernadette
    bernadette

hmmm, wonder if they've taken the quote out of context.

• horrible life
    horrible life

On the same site, is another video called Africa Remembered. I didn't know it disappeared.

http://www.jw-media.org/vnr/4382612162/214331.htm