Why So Many JWs Are Sick ( and What to Do About it)

by metatron 41 Replies latest jw friends

• metatron
    metatron

I'm not a medical professional - but I feel very strongly about this issue and want to pass it along.

Why are so many Witnesses so sick? Why do they often seem to be plagued by strange, chronic illnesses - that often appear

to have a strong psychosomatic element? MS, Chronic Fatigue Syndrome, Self Mutilation, Depression, Repressed Memories,

Anorexia, out-of-control allergies, you name it.....?

Answer: emotional sterility and a body that is subconsciously screaming at you "I hate this, STOP IT!"

OK, so I can't promise any cure in this BUT I AM UNALTERABLY CONVINCED after years of being an elder that Witnesses

in particular lack proper emotional and physical ( and probably sexual - but I won't 'go there') outlets.

They need to sing, full out.

They need to dance until they 'get out of their heads' for a while!

They need to chant or sing with their arms lifted up while tears run down their cheeks!

Tent revival evangelists knew this. African shamans knew this. Folks in 'mosh pits' know this

Even guys like Hitler - or Amway (!) knew this!

If you are a lurker or ex-jw, I recommend a seminar with Sonia Choquette that involves song and dance

She really captures the essence of a revival meeting - without the organized religion.

There are many other outlets available - and outlet is the critical word!

Ever have a massage and start having weird emotions pop up? or start crying for no reason? What is your body

telling you?

You are not just a mind. Your body talks to you and if you ignore it because of stiff religion

or even intellectual disdain, it will 'get back at you'!

You need to find an activity that absorbs your attention so deeply that you 'forget yourself'

and get 'out of your head' for awhile! Ever play football and later realize that you were bleeding or had a

broken toe and you didn't know it? That's what you need, now and then!