That Voice...My Story

by Confession 45 Replies latest jw experiences

• Confession
    Confession

In my dream, I’m on the air at one of the radio stations where I used to work as a DJ, looking at a person in the adjoining studio through a pane of glass. His studio is dimly lit, so I’m not sure who it is, but he seems familiar to me. He’s trying to talk to me about something, but I can’t hear him. Either the glass is too thick or my hearing too dull. I hold up my hands and shrug as if to say, “Sorry, can’t hear you.” He looks down and sighs. I open the mic to give the latest weather forecast.

I was born into the third generation of a now fourth generation Jehovah’s Witness family. My grandmother became involved in the early 1940s when someone knocked on her door and engaged her in conversation. My dad was just a teen then and didn’t become involved. His father didn’t either, remaining a part of another church. But Grandpa was lovingly supportive of Grandma’s desire to become one of Jehovah’s Witnesses. When, soon after her baptism, she began to share in the full-time preaching activity, he even bought her a car just for this purpose; he called it her Kingdom Chariot.

How thankful I am that he was so supportive. Many unbelieving mates cause so much trouble for their spouses. But even though Grandpa didn’t agree with the Witness belief that we were allied with the only channel of communication from Jehovah God, he was respectful of her feelings on the matter.

When my mother and father began dating while still teenagers, Grandma started a study with Mom. She responded well and soon after so did my father. In fact Mom used to tell me that Dad never did really have a Bible study with someone else. Instead he began voraciously reading Watchtower Society publications, and in no time he and Mom were baptized in symbol of their dedication to Jehovah.