Can someone help me to understand?

by hiccup 32 Replies latest jw experiences

• hiccup
    hiccup

I am very new to this whole "religion" and although I have pulled up some information on Jehovah's Witnesses, I can't seem to get my arms around it. The reason I have come here is because my father has been doing bible studies and readings for about 2 years now and over the last 6 months to a year he has been someone very different from who I used to know. It all started with a near fatal car accident and then with my sister getting involved with drugs and running away with her boyfriend. My father has worked his entire life to give my sister and I everything we could want and need and we have both fallen short of his expectations. I have been offered a really great opportunity in Europe but I am willing to forego that if it means that I can help my father pull out of whatever is going on emotionally. He has just told me that he has looked into a cleaning job at a university and work for just enough to give himself and my mother 3 meals a day. You have to understand, he was a self-employed business owner that had absolutely nothing handed to him and managed to buy our family a huge home, brand new cars, sent us to private schools and then me to private university. These last 1.5 to 2 years he has blown through a lot of their money they had saved and really is considering moving clear across the country to Amherst, MA to be a part of a clean-up crew!!!!!. What I am having a hard time understanding is if being a Jehovah's Witness is what has brought him to this idea? Is there anything within the religion that says that being financially successful is wrong or does anyone know what I can do? I am desperate and it breaks my heart to think of him cleaning up after college kids after he has managed to build this life with his own hands.