If you have an ACCENT how are you treated?

by ChrisVance 47 Replies latest jw friends

• ChrisVance
    ChrisVance

I have lived in Mexico for almost two years. I have always been fascinated by languages so when I retired from the State of Washington at age 50 and had the opportunity so go to college I majored in Spanish. I didn't go to college when I was young for the usual dub reason. While I was an undergraduate I spent a semester at one of the Mexican "snob" schools as an exchange student. Fourteen months later I returned to the same university to study for a master's degree in applied linguistics at the same university. I had found that generally speaking people in this part of Mexico weren't very kind when talking to a person who didn't speak Spanish perfectly, but I though that I'd improve and that in wouldn't be a problem.

After living here for almost two years I've found that the situation hasn't improved. I have learned how to say numerous things that they never taught us in college. I can understand much more that I did two years ago, but I still get the same unkind comments. Is this a human characteristics, or do Spanish speaking people feel that their language is sacred and shouldn't be spoken by someone who doesn't speak it perfectly?

My thesis was just rejected and one of the reasons is because they don't think my translations are reliable. It's in English, but I quote what was said to me in Spanish with an English translation. One of the members of my thesis committee is a Columbian who has always made fun of my Spanish. Actually I discussed all the quotes with a native speaker before I translated them to make sure I understood what the speaker was saying.

When I was at home last summer I was talking to a friend who had been an exchange student in France and he said the the French are mean if you don't sound just like them. I find Mexicans to be the same way.