Why Do You or Don't You Believe In The Bible?

by minimus 40 Replies latest jw friends

• minimus
    minimus

Do you believe in the Bible just because you were raised to believe? Are you sure it's "believable"? .....Have you convinced yourself the Bible is just another book?

• whyamihere
    whyamihere

I believe in it for now anyway.

I remember in school and we were being taught that in the Greek times things were explained by the many gods. There was a God for pretty much everything.

I feel the same with the bible. I don't understand alot and I believe the bible gives me some answers. Its like it gives me a hope or a reason for now. However the JW's took the bible rewrote it and made it their own. Who knows I may change my mind later...I am still learning about life.

Brooke

• franklin J
    franklin J

I believe, based on my experiences in life thus far...that the Bible is an interesting book of ancient stories from an ancient world. I do not consider it a "sacred" book or divinely inspired, anymore than I consider the Egyptian Book of the Dead; the Koran or the Baghd Davita , worthy of worship. All interesting to read; but not to be taken seriously.

While I believe that the personage of a man named Jesus was most likely factual from the first century ( although there is no secular record of him---why would there be?) I believe he was most likely a very charismatic personality to sway so many to his philosophy. Note that the population of the ancient Roman world was 1 part free man to 2 parts slave---2/3s of the population were slaves and had no hope of freedom in their lifetime. A belief promising deliverance in the next life and freedom was sure to catch on like wildfire.