My mother says I should just DA already.

by Julia Orwell 50 Replies latest jw experiences

• Julia Orwell
    Julia Orwell

Cut the cord. Sever all ties. Start new.

And she's right. She's seen me in the throes of leaving this cult now for 2 years and how it's ruined my career and further addled my brain. She (non-jw) doesn't think I will ever truly heal til I'm officially off their books and free of them.

Yet something holds me back from doing that, from having my name announced for all jws (who have already cut me off anyway). Maybe it's the idea of burning bridges or still caring what those bastards think. Maybe it's that I don't want to make them right about me, that "see, she went to higher education and now look! She's left the truth!" or, "She always was too outspoken..." or anything like that. Or, heaven forbid, that I've done the dirty on my husband, which I haven't, but you know how JW brains work.

I'm quite sure Mum is right because I've been floundering now for two years. I can't hold down a job, I lack confidence to go and retrain/study, and I can't get off the meds. It all went pear-shaped starting 10 years ago almost to the day (that's a whole other story) and ten years of mental illness and floundering around in and out of a cult and not knowing where I'm headed has left me a ragged heap of broken humanity. If I DA I have no bridge for future contact with jws but really, am I gonna need it?