Why is it even ex JW's run scared when they hear the word apostate?

by happehanna 35 Replies latest watchtower beliefs

• happehanna
    happehanna

I just told them where I work as a volunteer, that I am going to a workshop for those that have left a cult tomorrow. They were all fascinated and wanted to know which cult I had belonged to. I said JW's and this one guy said I he used to be one of them. He is quite a quiet man and said it was the first time he had told anyone that he had been one. He didn't agree it was a cult and was shocked and dismayed that I said I was an apostate. He just said it was hypocritical religion but that they has most of the bible right in his opinion.

But he looked really disturbed that I had been one and that I called it a cult? I am wondering why I said something, it was really odd. He told me not to believe stuff on apostate websites etc. etc. but he left over 7 years ago, it still has a hold on him.

• ColdRedRain
    ColdRedRain

They're not really XJW's. They have left the Watchtower, but the WT hasn't really left them. That's why they run scared of the word "Apostate" and anything that contradicts the WT.

• Justin
    Justin

"Cult" means different things to different people. While I personally think of JWs as a cult, I never refer to them as such publicly. I think "sect" would be a better description. It was Jonestown that gave "cult" a new meaning. Attention became focused on groups which physically isolate their people and use extreme methods of control.