What books did you study?

by Nosferatu 14 Replies latest jw friends

• Nosferatu
    Nosferatu

Before you got baptized, what were the books that you studied with your bible study conductor? The "essential" one that I studied was the Live Forever book. When I was a child, I had to study My book of Bible Stories, Great Teacher, and Your Youth (twice). I had also studied the Reasoning book and that ugly green-bordered brochure with the JW history in it.

• blondie
    blondie

The blue bomb--The truth book. I will add that my mother never studied with me (father not JW) and never had a study with another adult. All osmosis.

As to what other books I have studied over the years....too many to recount. I can say this, I cannot honestly say that I every studied the Bible at the meetings.

Blondie

• rocketman
    rocketman

For me it was "Things In Which It Is Impossible For God To Lie". I have no idea why my teacher picked that one, but in those days (early 1970s) the wts did not seem to 'enforce' the choice of books, even though the Truth book was standard fare. Things were looser in other ways too - bookstudies did not follow a set schedule printed in the KM but rather studied at their own pace.

• franklin J
    franklin J

does anyone remember the old "Paradise lost" book? Big, orange with lots of picures?

Frank

• Odrade
    Odrade
    does anyone remember the old "Paradise lost" book?

Yep, my dad studied that one with me as a kid.

O

• Swan
    Swan

Paradise Lost, Paradise Regained was the one my mom studied with me from infancy. It had the worst pictures. They give me nightmares to this day. The one of the buildings being destroyed and people falling into a great crack in the earth came back to haunt me when we went to the assembly in Anchorage shortly after the great quake of 1964. Seeing all of the destruction first hand was quite a trauma.

Tammy

• blondie
    blondie