Did anyone put off having children because of wt bs?

by I Faded Twice 33 Replies latest social family

• I Faded Twice
    I Faded Twice

Just curious if anyone put off having kids because the end was so close. Or because of you're "ministry" or lack of suitable mates.

• Tameria2001
    Tameria2001

I didn't, I had a life goal set in front of me as a JW, and it was this. Graduate from high school, and spend the next 5 years enjoying my single life. My goal was to get married after I graduated from high school to get married after 5 years. Then spend two years with my future husband, and then start a family. Which was what I did, and I'm glad I did because after I had my second child, I couldn't have anymore, so if I had waited, I would have missed out on the opportunity to ever have any children.

• Wasanelder Once
    Wasanelder Once

There were other factors, ie: my niece being born with spinabifida and the fear of it happening to any child I might have, the ministry (pioneered a long time) and such. It certainly didn't help that God's anointed all but made it a taboo. Assholes.

• zeb
    zeb

I knew one couple who did and she went through emotional hell wanting a baby. I lost track of them.

• All or nothing
    All or nothing

MeπŸ™‹πŸ»

• ShirleyW
    ShirleyW

I remember an older Elder couple and his wife, his children would now be early and late 70's, but I remember him saying when they first got married they held off from having kids because of the Society. That is so, so said that many couple who desperately wanted kids thought they were doing what Jehovah wanted them to do when it was just 7 old guys in Brooklyn writing bogus rules after finishing a bottle of bourbon.

• 2+2=5
    2+2=5

I know plenty that should of.

• Lost in the fog
    Lost in the fog