Are you patriotic?

by kitties_and_horses_oh_my! 18 Replies latest jw experiences

• kitties_and_horses_oh_my!
    kitties_and_horses_oh_my!

Tonight my husband and I watched the fireworks for the 4th of July. I've never done this before, save for occasionally peering out of my window as a child hoping to see a few. Tonight was wonderful - beautiful, fun, and there were tons of people there who were behaving themselves at least as well as people behave at assembly. (I'm so confused, aren't non-JW's supposed to be crude, uncaring, stupid, etc.?)

As a child my dad once asked me "are you an American?" I knew it was a trick-question, but I wasn't sure quite what he had up his sleeve and innocently replied "yes, I am a citizen of the U.S." He then gave me a long lecture on how we're citizens of God's Kingdom and not of any government on earth. I was confused, as technically being born in the U.S. did make me a citizen, but I knew for the future what my attitude should be: the U.S. was not my country.

Now that my husband and I have left I am beginning to have small - very, very small - stirrings of what I guess might be called patriotism, at least a little happiness that we're fortunate enough to live here instead of in a dictatorship where we didn't have the right to have our own opinions. It's not that I think everything "my" country does is right, but the tiniest part of me is happy to live here.

Do you ever feel patriotic? Hum the national anthem? Does the flag mean anything to you? I look at the flag and I don't feel a thing. The one thing that does stir something inside me is seeing soldiers...people who are willing to sacrafice everything for a cause they believe in. I had that respect for them even when I was a JW, as being a JW meant being willing to die for a cause. I remember mentioning something like that in service once or twice and being greeted with a stony silence, big surprise.

• RAYZORBLADE
    RAYZORBLADE