Helping my family see the truth about 'the truth'

by Stella3 24 Replies latest jw experiences

• Stella3
    Stella3

This is my first time joining a forum like this.  I grew up in the jw religion.  I was baptized when i was 13 and started to fade out at 16 at least mentally.  When i turned 18 i moved out and got away completely.  Somehow i escaped being disfellowshipped.  My family is still very active jws but they speak to me, fortunately.  There are still so many boundaries on our relationship.  They didn't come to my wedding, they never call me i have to be the one to call them, they wouldn't come to my house until i was married, sometimes we argue and i get the 'we just want you with us' speech.  Regardless i am grateful that they are able to have a relationship with me even if it is strained.   Recently i have done a ton of research about the jws and now i know to my core that its all BS.

My sister was in a marriage with a man she didn't love and because there was no way out she cheated.   They disfellowshipped her and now she is living at my parents house at 32 years old and no one she knows can speak to her.  While she is going through a divorce.   It blows my mind how insensitive they can be while claiming to be compassionate.  Anyways so my sister still believes completely and wants to get reinstated.  But i desperately want to help her to see the truth about this without being labeled as an apostate. has anyone been successful in helping their families? if so, any tips for me?

• Simon
    Simon