eggs, over easy?

by Irreverent 13 Replies latest jw friends

• Irreverent
    Irreverent

Sometimes, I get a request from the wife for egg over easy. While I am an excellent cook; I always have trouble with eggs. Any suggestions on how to cook eggs over easy? Any suggestions would be appreciated.

• Gopher
    Gopher

Here's a link to the "Food Network" site. I hope it helps.

http://www.foodtv.com/recipes/re-c1/0,6255,15329,00.html

Eggs Over Easy

Recipe courtesy Alton Brown

2 eggs (the fresher the better)
    1 tablespoon unsalted butter
    Salt and pepper

Heat a small non-stick skillet over low heat and add butter. As soon as the butter stops foaming, crack the eggs into the pan. Lift the handle about an inch so that the eggs pool in the far corner of the pan. Hold for 30 seconds or until the whites start to set, then lower the handle and give the pan a jiggle just to make sure there’s no sticking. Season with a pinch of salt and pepper and continue to cook over low heat until the whites become opaque. Jiggle to loosen the eggs, then lift the pan, holding it about a foot above the heat. Now, flip the eggs over by pushing the pan away and snapping upward simultaneously. Once the eggs start their somersault, raise the pan to meet them so that the exposed yolks experience the softest landing possible. The goal of course is to avoid breaking the yolks. If you succeed, count to 10 slowly then flip the eggs again, slide them onto a plate and serve. If the yolks do break, act like you meant them to, fry for another minute and serve. They’ll still taste great.

Yield: 1 serving

• Celia
    Celia

eggs over easy.... I suppose these are fried eggs that are then flipped to cook the egg yolk too. Anyway, here is what I do.... I do not flip them --