For My Kids

by myjourney 28 Replies latest social family

• myjourney
    myjourney

Hi,

I haven't been on here much, but every so often I try and keep up with the discussions.

I'm sure this topic has been talked about before, so my apologies in advance if I'm repeating.

A little about me...

I'm a non baptized JW married to a devout JW. Both my husband and I were raised in the organization. From the time I was young I couldn't drink the kool-aid. In my early adult years, I tried. I studied, went to meetings, out in service, you know the gig, but Thankfully I never took the plunge. During this time I met and married my husband. Fast forward, 3 kids later and i'm dying inside. My husband is pushing me to homeschool for obvious reasons, dragging them to every meeting and out to service. There isn't any balance in my children's lives. It's a repeat of my childhood all over again.

So my question, more and more I've begun thinking of separating from my husband. I feel like it is the only way to offer balance in their lives. Despite my husband's objective I returned to work so financially I'd be ok. More importantly, we would have to split time with the kids giving me several days a week for normalcy. Don't get me wrong, I love my husband, he's a wonderful father if you could remove the JW influence and has been an attentive, hard working, and loving husband. However, I can't sit idly by and watch my kids being brainwashed, I'm their only shot at life.

Am I crazy to be considering this drastic step? Anyone else living an anxiety filled life? How do you handle watching your children living a lie? I can't continue living this way!

Thanks for listening.

• freddo
    freddo

This may sound incredibly naive but if separating is on the table what have you got to lose by trying to save your marriage first but do the following anyway?

A) Telling your husband why you believe jw's to be "wrong" in their world view - ARC/Generations/False Prophecies etc.