What have I been doing for the last few years?

by Lee Marsh 24 Replies latest jw friends

• Lee Marsh
    Lee Marsh

I used to be here a lot. Every single day almost. And then I wasn't.

Well let's start with a before.

After I left the JWs I went to college and then university. In both I studied counseling so that when I graduated I could help other survivors of childhood sexual abuse. This was a dream that I had as a child and it continued until I connected to the JWs where I was told that it would be a waste of time because we would not need counselors in the "new system". Everyone would be perfect. (yeah right. Still waiting for that one - well not really) So I gave up my dream, got baptized, married had kids, had a breakdown, got divorced and DFed and finally went back to school to do what I wanted.

I counseled sexual abuse survivors, both men and women, exclusively for 13 years in Montreal.

Then the internet happened!!!

I started a support group for survivors on the old "Sympatico" website and got to know a few people around the world, started searching for exJW websites and found JWD!!! and posted here as "Lady Lee".

Moved to Winnipeg , got married and started to work with the homeless many of whom had been abused as children. I switched jobs to work with abused women many of whom were sexually abused as children.

And then I got sick. I had to quit working. Did a lot more work in here whenever I could. Made friends. Made enemies. Kept my sanity somehow. Did a couple of interesting projects like the cookbooks compiled from recipes by many of the posters here. All proceeds went to pay for this website. And I put together the "Best of Series". Hope some people still find that useful.