What were you like in high school?

by Aztec 46 Replies latest jw friends

• Aztec
    Aztec

I'm sick of talking about George Bush and Iraq and war so...

What were you like in high school?

I was an orchestra geek. I played violin and took all the math classes I could. Because I was still a dub I wasn't allowed to participate in sports or anything fun so I studied and got mostly A's. Yes, I was a dork!

~Aztec

• logical
    logical

everybody picked on me

• Soledad
    Soledad

in grades 9 and 10 I was rebellious, cursed out the teachers, got bad grades and cut class. I got suspended once in grade 9 for excessive cuts.

in grades 11 and 12 my grades improved, I cut less and didn't curse out anyone. even though I wasn't thinking about college, I was encouraged to go, and ended up going to a 2 year business school, then transferred to a 4 year state university, and now, 10 years later, working on my Masters.

• Marcos
    Marcos

Hey Aztec,

I was fascinated by gymnastics. I got on the team because track and field didnt suit me. I did fairly well as a gymnast. I experienced being popular for the first time in my life in school.

My parents were against it. The cong. was against it. I got counseled. I got harassed. My parents refused to attend my meets, which hurt because I usually placed well.

I became more rebellious and moved out of my parents house at 15. I had a ball! Went back to visit a few times but never moved back in.

School sports opened the door for me. I was a nice guy. I tried to tow the party line for another 8 years or so. But, could never really swallow it all even though I wanted to and tried really, really hard.

Marcos

• DakotaRed
    DakotaRed

Oh lord, how do you expect me to remember that far back?

As were most, I was a geek too, I suppose. Cars held my main interest.

Lew W

• Jim_TX
    Jim_TX

Good topic.