Anyone here into Swing Dancing/Music?

by pr_capone 23 Replies latest jw friends

• pr_capone
    pr_capone

I was wondering how many others are on this board that enjoy Swing Dancing and the music? I have been doing it myself for over 8 years now and love it. I mostly do East Coast and Lindy. I would love to know if there are any other Hep Cats on the forum.

Eric

• LovesDubs
    LovesDubs

Not a hep cat myself, but noticed they have been asking for tapes of swing dancers to be sent in to audition for SWING! at the Kravis Center for the Performing Arts here in West Palm..if yer good you get to be on it I guess, and get tickets. :)

• Robdar
    Robdar

PR,

I love swing dancing and used to be quite good several years ago before it became popular. I am starting classes again in late January. Should be lots of fun. Now, if I can only find a partner to go to competitions with.

Robyn

• pr_capone
    pr_capone

My partner and I have not yet gone to any competitions but we will be probably this summer in Dallas. I hope an impromptu Apostfest I hope will take place.

• Robdar
    Robdar

PR,

The Dallas competition should be fun. Have you been to other competitions? My instructor says that I should be able to find a partner rather quickly. I would like to do a little competing too. Let me know how the competition goes.

• pr_capone
    pr_capone

Nothing big, just local ones. Won a few CD's for best dancers and best dressed (I own 3 zoot suits, 1 fedora, and 2 other hats which are MUCH larger) a few times. Nothing grand. Check out this link. http://www.wichitasds.org/

Go to the gallery and look under Benders 2002. I am the first picture on the 2nd row. The guy on the right. I am also there with my dance partner/ex gf on the 2nd pic on the third row. I am holding her upside down over my shoulder.

*EDIT* The thumbnails arent working right... I sent them an email to correct it.

Edited by - pr_capone on 5 January 2003 9:35:19

• Robdar
    Robdar