Population of Deaf JWs

by Yizuman 31 Replies latest jw friends

• Yizuman
    Yizuman

Anyone have any idea what the exact numbers there are with Deaf JWs? Just curious how many there worldwide?

Anyone still on the inside able to get that information?

Thanks

• Valis
    Valis

You might try contacting lady lee. I know she did a bit of work for the deaf in JWland.

Their website gives vague info you might do some guessing w/their numbers.

http://www.jw-media.org/releases/000930.htm

Sincerely,

District Overbeer

• LovesDubs
    LovesDubs

Are you deaf Yizu? When I was a newer JW there was a "need" in our congregation for interpreters because it was pre JW DEAF congregation era...circa 1985. Two of us self taught SignEnglish...rudamentary but we learned as we went and the deaf were very grateful for the effort, having been trying to read mustachioed elders lips to that point. And soon we were doing it at assemblies, except the District which still had sections for the deaf and Bethel reps doing the heavy stuff. (I recall this poor interpreter doing a HUGE talk on "Ezekials Wheel within a Wheel Vision"..cripes what a nightmare. Even the hearing didnt get THAT one LOL! ) But very rapidly the deaf grew in population once they organized into their own congregations. They had to go to NJ for the assemblies which was horrific because many many of them were dirt poor to start with so travel was very hard to accomplish. I soon let it go because of having kids and ASL was required..which ALSO had to be ASL a la the Society. We would however do HUGE territories tracking down the deaf, using TTY directories and Deaf association membership rosters, and deaf call recommendations...constantly adding to a central database. I left in 1997, but I know two people who were recruited to become the PO and POElderette at the Deaf Congregation in Oak Park (Chicago). HE didnt want anything to do with sign language, but...was forced to learn it because his wife knew it and they needed a