Do you feel like an idiot?Should you?

by sleepy 26 Replies latest jw friends

• sleepy
    sleepy

I was thinking today about all the time i spent on the ministry.
    Walking down the street with my suit and briefcase ready to defend the truth.
    I recalled some of the conversations i had , had.Some of the bible studies I conducted, the talks I had given the groups I had taken.
    I remmebered the way I defended my faith and belief in Jehovah and the Jehovahs witness organisation.
    How much I must have believed it was the truth.
    I spent 3 years as an auxillary pioneer and called on many thousands of people.
    Yet all along I was wrong.
    Every time I defened my beliefs I was wrong.
    Every talk I studied and prepeared long and hard for, I was wrong.
    All the things I gave up for the truth I was wrong.

What an idiot.

• simwitness
    simwitness

At the time, you believed it was the truth, therefore at that time, you were not an "idiot" for doing them.

An "idiot" would have continued doing those things after he was convinced that they were wrong.

• LDH
    LDH

Thank God we awoke, sleepy.

My poor aunts are in their 70s and after a lifetime of spouting these empty promises and doctrines, will die soon.

Of course, "millions now living will never die," and all that--but I wonder deep down inside do they resent growing old?

Lisa

• Satanus
    Satanus

Most people, even nondubs, if they are able to honestly look back on their lives, would see much of the same type of things. The difference is that for nondubs, it is amore individual thing, stupid things they on which they wasted money, time and energy. Egotistical stuff. But for nondubs, since a lot of the stuff was fun when they did them, their regrets aren't as strong. Most of the dub stuff never was fun.

My opinions
    SS

• safe4kids
    safe4kids