DEMONS: the torment I suffered

by Terry 21 Replies latest jw friends

• Terry
    Terry

When I was in my teens I wanted a room of my own, but I lived with my grandparents whose house was very small.

My uncle had been living in a little one room bed-sitter way out in the backyard. He married and moved away and I moved in.

It was quite isolated and the ceiling was six feet from the floor. Unfortunately, the top of my head was four inches higher than that! The room was only suitable for sleeping. So, I'd walk out in the dark and open my door, duck my head, climb into bed and try to settle in for a night's rest.

Did I mention how isolated this tiny bedroom was? Anyway. . . as I studied with my best friend, who was a JW, we eventually began discussing the idea of demons. At first I thought it was fanciful myth. But, I was also quite the horror movie fan. My subconscious was--shall we say--ripe for exploitation?

My grandmother had been Catholic as a young girl and she was the only influence before the JW's. She certainly believed in Lucifer (i.e. the Devil) and she would read to me from the Book of Revelation when I was a small, impressionable boy.

I think you see where this is heading, right?

As I was exposed more and more to the Watchtower articles on demons I could feel increasing sense of fear. (I think that is the idea!)

A sense of being surrounded by invisible beings began to actually seem possible, then as time passed, it was a total paranoiac.

Ahh, what a blessing studying with JW's is to one and all!

So now we come to the "incidents" as I shall call them . . .Let's say, as I became more sensitized to demons I also had a more difficult time walking out in the dark into the backyard and opening the door to that tiny enclosed bedroom and sliding into bed listening to night sounds with the blood pounding in my ears from an adrenaline rush of terror.