Racist comment from Jehovah’s Witness!

by Seraphim23 20 Replies latest jw friends

• Seraphim23
    Seraphim23

I work as a concierge for a building in Central London. Recently we had a new window cleaner firm take over, as the old boy who had done the job for years, retired!

I noticed that the new guy (with assistant) was a JW because I asked for his business card and noticed the blood card nestled tightly in the wallet card holder compartment, as he reached for a card. I told him my mother was a JW and he said we would have to talk more about it. I did not reveal that I was and still am a baptised JW and that I had faded and no longer believed in the creed because theocratic warfare strategy works both ways in my view.

In the block of flats I run, there is a sizable Muslim community with many traditional Muslim garbs worn also. Since my own spirituality and interest in science has taught me that skin colour means nothing, I concentrate on the character of a person’s heart, as though trying to peer through the interference of cultural differences to that end as much as possible. This means trying to get to know people! Since leaving the JWs faith many moons ago now, I think I have come way further that I ever did as a JW in seeing the spirit within, as opposed to the outside of a person. The bad side of this, is that I am very much more sensitive to all the forms of racism that come into view and there are many of them.