Should I meet with the elders?

by winnie12 29 Replies latest jw experiences

• winnie12
    winnie12

So I posted my story somewhere on this board but long story short I have been expressing my doubts to my mom who is a jw. I have been fading since December 2013 and went to a Sunday meeting for the first time maybe two weeks ago. I went only because I wanted to use the library that my hall has which had books published by the society from the early 1900's. My mom decided to join me in the library which is in the basement while the meeting went on and I was able to show her how the society had told people that the end would come in 1914,1975 etc. Almost everyday since I have been telling her new things I am learning about the jw's through my research just to get her thinking. Anyways she suggested that the elders could meet with me and answer my questions. Based on their ability to answer my questions I could decide what I want to do. She said they were interested in meeting with me. Is this a trap? Im hoping that I could have this meeting with them with my mom present so that she could see that they can't give a satisfying answer to the questions I have. Would it be a good idea to meet with them?

• Gypsy Sam
    Gypsy Sam

Yikes, I missed your intro post, but welcome! Tread lightly. You sound young...I researched countless hours on my own online before I made a decision to fade. I live far from family so that option worked for me. You'll get lots of good advice on here. Wish you the best. Respect your mom and try to refrain from telling, but instead utilize the questioning method.

Carpe diem!

• Fernando
    Fernando

It almost always ends badly.

You have begun to see things they are not ready to.

And they are always right no matter how wrong they are.

At any rate if you really must...

Never meet with more than one elder (3 is always a Judging Committee, no matter what lies they tell you to trick you into attending).