Are you materialistic?

by Goldiver 31 Replies latest jw experiences

• Goldiver
    Goldiver

Why, yes I am according to the JWs. This is an topic that has always irked me with the JWs. Anyone who had a good paying job and nice things was materialistic. When I was growing up I was taught to not worry about higher education or even worry about retirement as the world would come to an end long before it would come time for me to retire. I did graduate high school and during that time I chose to take vocational courses on construction.

After I graduated I had a few low paying jobs and eventually I was lucky enough to land a good paying job before the fade was complete and started enjoying having nice vehicles , a nice home and nice things. Now I'm not talking being extravagant by any means but simply enjoying the fruits of my labor like a normal person. The JWs sure took notice and in no time I was being labeled as "materialistic". Of course I used my job as an excuse for my non-presence at metings and FS.

As I look back at so many JW people I have known it saddens me to see they have no retirement funds to draw on. To say most are dirt poor is an understatement. Many do not help themselves but depend on others to pay thier way and become a burden. They suffer because of what they believe in and what they are taught, it is just not right.

Now that I am in my mid 40's I am glad I was able to see the true light before it was too late and I too became a burden instead of being able to help myself. I'm just a normal person taking care of my family and myself to the best of my ability. It is just so sad that they discourage people from getting ahead and making sure they take care of thier future, and if they try to they are automatically labeled "materialistic" and subjected to forms of shunning because they are not "trusting in Jah".

• Captain Obvious
    Captain Obvious