First Post - Introduction

by Syme 33 Replies latest jw friends

• Syme
    Syme

Hello to all of you! This is my first post on jwn, and I would like to take a few lines to introduce myself.

I currently am still in the organization, though my conviction in the last 1-2 years is more or less agnostic/atheist (closer to atheist). I am an ex-elder and MTS graduate, having served in another 3 congregations, apart from my home one.

The reason for the above-mentioned conviction shift has to do with science and rational, logical thinking generally, and with the grand theory of Evolution, specifically. It took me long, endless sessions of hard reading and study of serious scientific literature (plus cross-matching all the quotes and claims in JW evolution-related literature), to finally make the shift from utterly firm religious belief to doubt, and then to lack of religious faith. Reading of so-called “apostate” material had an extremely minor, if not null, contribution to this shift. No, it was rather pure rational thinking that led with mathematical precision to loss of religious faith.

To put it in Darwin’s words to his religious wife: “The loss of religious faith is a slow and fragile process like the raising of continents. What can I say to you except that the process now seems complete.”

I have a post to share that has to do with JW’s and Communist Parties similarities. I am thinking of posting it on the “Beliefs, doctrines and practices” thread. If another thread would be more appropriate, please let me know!

Since English is not my mother tongue, please forgive some difficulties in reading that my writing might cause

• Witness My Fury
    Witness My Fury

Awesome!

Glad you woke up.

• Phizzy
    Phizzy

Welcome Syme !

I am looking forward to hearing more from you.

• KateWild
    KateWild

Welcome Syme,