The Art of Writing

by Quendi 35 Replies latest social entertainment

• Quendi
    Quendi

Gore Vidal's death Tuesday in Los Angeles got me to thinking about writers. I am a writer myself and I know there are many other writers on this forum. I wanted to open a discussion on writing in the twenty-first century and get other thoughts, opinions and experiences on this. However, this discussion might not be what you'd expect. You see, I am interested in knowing what medium do you use to do your writing.

The computer and word processor have revolutionized the art. I am grateful for my computer and the Microsoft Word software I use to write many things. But I also have a passion for good old fashioned handwriting, and my favorite instrument for this is the fountain pen. I own nine and have my eye on at least four more I would like to acquire. In addition, I own high end rollerball and ballpoint pens. I also have very nice handwriting which has been admired and praised for a long time.

I made a very surprising discovery about how these instruments affect my own writing. The fountain pen requires a slower pace and a much more deliberate style of writing because once the words have been put on paper, there can be no changing or rearranging or any other kind of revision and editing done. So I have to think a great deal more when I pick up a pen to compose a letter or message to someone. The computer, on the other hand, allows me to write much more quickly, freely and compulsively since I know I can always go back and correct or revise anything I've written. That has been a strange realization for me.