Why " Legally " guilty?

by DATA-DOG 11 Replies latest watchtower scandals

• DATA-DOG
    DATA-DOG

Hello everyone,

I am no Lawyer so bear with me. If california was not a mandatory reporting state when Candice was abused, then how was the WTBTS found legally guilty? Don't get me wrong, they deserve it. Any moral person would have reported child abuse. It just seems like they could use the fact that at the time of the abuse, they were not " legally " required to report as a loophole. Any lawyers out there? All comments are welcome. I am just curious. Thanks.

• rebel8
    rebel8

I believe "guilty" is not applicable to civil cases. "Liable for damages" is.

• DT
    DT

If you don't shovel your sidewalk in the winter and someone slips and gets hurt, you could still be sued and held liable even if your city doesn't have a law about shoveling your sidewalk.

The Watchtower Society caused harm because of their neglect and failure to take reasonable precautions. They were held liable depite the fact that they didn't break a specific law.

• blond-moment
    blond-moment

Their not reporting was only part of it.

They knew this man was a pedophile, and still failed to protect this and other children. They were found guilty of Malice. Deliberate and willful negligence. They deliberately failed to protect the children. That's what they were found guilty of. It was not just failure to report, it was the deliberate actions taken to protect the organization from lawsuit, instead of protecting the welfare of the children. Their actions of sweeping it under the carpet, was in part, the reason she was abused by this man. Their actions, put children at risk. This girl was one of them.