question about racial demographics

by Iris10401 11 Replies latest jw experiences

• Iris10401
    Iris10401

Hello...I hope this is the proper place to pose my question.

I've been meeting with a fine JW couple for several months now and I have attended meetings with them twice at the Kingdom Hall. A large segment of the congregation were people of color and it also seems that whenever I meet a JW on the street, they are more often than not African-American. I was wondering if there was some explanation for this, or is just coincidence? Is there some element of JW doctrine that appeals to people of color?

And just so all the bitter ex-Witnesses don't feel like they need to save me from the "borg," I'm not planning to attend any more meetings and I never considered converting. I am a happy, well-adjusted Latter-day Saint. My reason for meeting with the JWs is to understand the people and the belief system better. I haven't told the couple I meet with about my faith...I wonder how they'd react to find out I'm Mormon....

Anyhow, thanks in advance for any light you can shed on my question about the racial make-up of the congregation.

• LDH1
    LDH1
    wonder how they'd react to find out I'm Mormon....

BWA HA HA.

Nice to meet you Iris.

Considering you are a Mormon, I'm wondering *how many* minorities make up "more often than not" for you. Betcha anything they've seen more blacks and Hispanics in Salt Lake City with the Olympics for the past month than many have seen their whole life!

I was not surprised several years ago when a Black man had to sue the LDS in order to be ordained.

Don't get yer knickers in a twist, I'm just bustin yer chops.

Anyhow, the short answer to your question is, it really depends on where you live. I have attended congs made up of 95% white, and 95% black. And now that I think about it, 95% Puerto Rican when I lived in PR of course.