i am finding it hard to pray with my children

by Evidently Apostate 11 Replies latest jw experiences

• Evidently Apostate
    Evidently Apostate

i have been fading for 6 months but my wife is still in and always asks me to pray at dinner and when i put the little ones to bed but i am finding prayer to be more of a pretense than heartfelt. i have to pray for the sun or the earth but why thank him for the food, hell thank me for going to work everyday .who put us in the house we live in, god? Its really hard for me to pray for anything anymore as i have an anger toward him and dont want anything to do with a future (mythical)paradise under his control, so why ask for it?

• cantleave
    cantleave

It gets hard to speak to an imaginary friend, when you are a sane adult.

• shamus100
    shamus100

And the anger that you feel is entirely normal.

Time will change the way you feel - for the better. It's the way human animals work. Hang in there.

• JustThatGirl007
    JustThatGirl007

I haven't read your story, but have you told your wife how you feel?

I don't pray anymore. I don't believe in god, either. My husband (Baltar447) prays, but only to a heavenly father, I think. No specifics. The kids know I'm atheist. The husband is a deist. They require a prayer before bed, so he takes care of that.

• cuckoo in the nest
    cuckoo in the nest

"Dear jehooooover, I put this food on our table, the clothes on our backs and this roof over our head, so thanks for nothing". Job done.

• simon17
    simon17

How about making your prayers about your genuine feelings instead of the usual JW checklist.