Arguing with a Russellite

by Lunatic Faith 13 Replies latest jw friends

• Lunatic Faith
    Lunatic Faith

I posted a blog yesterday regarding some of the occult images used by the Watchtower society. www.lunaticfaith.wordpress.com

I got an interesting response today from an apparent Russellite. I have never run into these people so I was surprised at his vehement defense of Russell. Here is what he said:

I am not with the Jehovah's Witnesses; I am a Bible student as was Charles Taze Russell.

Charles Taze Russell was never a member of the Jehovah's Witnesses organization; he did not believe in such an organization, and he preached against such sectarianism and authoritarianism. He also preached against similar "Armageddon" teachings that existed in his day. Indeed, the message Russell preached concerning "Armageddon" and the ransom for all is almost the opposite of that preached by the Jehovah's Witnesses. The true founder of the Jehovah's Witnesses organization - and its message of eternal doom for all outside its organization - was Joseph Rutherford.

Russell was never a member of the Freemasons' organization, was not involved in "the occult", Satanism, spirtism, etc. His Biblical usage of "Watch Tower" had nothing at all to do with the worship of any false gods or godessses. His Biblical usage of the cross and crown symbolism had nothing at all to do with the Freemasons.Russell did not have a magazine called "Golden Age" (Rutherford introduced that magazine after Russell died)j, although he did borrow the term of "the ancients" to illustrate what Paul wrote of, that the groaning creation - the whole world of mankind - is [ignorantly] waiting for the manifestation of the sons of God. (Romans 8:19-22) Russell certainly did not use that term to condone the views of any of the heathen.