Newbie here

by aristeas 24 Replies latest jw friends

• aristeas
    aristeas

Some forums/boards have a greetings section for newbies, but I couldn't find one here, so I guess I should post here.

I was an active Witness in the 70s and 80s but decided I couldn't conscientiously continue participating so I just dropped out. Unlke many others, I don't have Witness family. Thus it was easy to just move & drop out. For 20+ years I have kept somewhat abreast of what's been going on, but in my most recent checking in, I found the GB has completely changed. I haven't heard of a single one currently on it. I've also heard of numerous changes, like doing away with the book study and Bethel elders. I guess even among such a conservative lot, things do always change. I never would have predicted the book study thing though.

I should thank Barb Anderson for her sharing of facts and not just venting feelings (no offense intended to those who do just vent feelings here though). I find her work quite fascinating.

Well, I guess that's as good a first post as I can make right now. Still a little skittish about actually joining one of these x-JW forums, so please understand. Do active Witnesses also come here?

I did notice how few new members there are here, at least according to the members list, but then I wasn't on it yet, so maybe that's not a good indicator. But it looks like a forum of/for established members.

Cheers.

• leavingwt
    leavingwt

Welcome!

• Found Sheep
    Found Sheep

Welcome! few members? I can't keep up? 70's 80's glad you got out!

• NewChapter
    NewChapter

Welcome! Yes there are active witnesses here--but they are deep undercover. Most are looking for a way out that doesn't sacrifice their families. I was a bit shocked at how many actives actually visited "apostate" sites. They really help to keep us current and some even post messages during conventions which is just funny.

Again--Welcome.

NC

• sizemik
    sizemik