Im a newbie, looking for courage to sever the ties with JWs...help?

by Pams girl 38 Replies latest jw friends

• Pams girl
    Pams girl

Hi, Im Paula from Wales, UK. Ive been studying for 6 years with JWs. They came at a vulnerable time, my best friend died in a car accident when she was 6 monthes pregnant, I was drinking heavily, no work due to agoraphobia, meddling with the ouija board etc....I felt they helped me, cured me if you like. I enjoyed the friendship, and attended meetings, lost my worldly friends, stopped drinking, got my act together etc. However, the bottom line is that due to agoraphobia and panic attacks, I simply couldnt go out on the ministry. This was the beginning of the problem.

They encouraged me to study with my 7 year old son, as my hubby wasnt interested. Things kinda plodded on for a few years, I went to meetings and assemblies when I could, and always attended the memorial. Things came to a head 2 years ago. My mother was in intensive care dying, and I left her to attend the assembly (July 2009). God forgive me. I hope she does too.....Im so sorry mum.

I began drinking again, but hid it well. I asked the girl I study with for a bible for my son, the kids bible. She informed me that basically, unless I regularly attended meetings etc, they would not give me a bible for him! I couldnt believe what I was hearing! Hypocrites!! They told me it was my responsibility to "Train him up..", yet basically tried to blackmail me. That was the beginning of the end. I learned that they couldnt care less about my agoraphobia, they just wanted bums on seats. I questioned them about breastfeeding, as breast milk contains leukocytes...thats right...WHITE BLOOD CELLS....they didnt like that one bit. People stopped calling, and I stopped going to meetings .I dont study anymore, as my friend said shed taught me all she knew, and it was now up to me, but we are still friends, and I see her ocassionally. They have sucessfully isolated me from everyone else.