Study Participants Wanted

by JW_Researcher 18 Replies latest watchtower scandals

• JW_Researcher
    JW_Researcher

Please contact Kira directly if you're interested.

My name is Kira Harris and I am a PhD student at Edith Cowan University. The aim of my research is to further the understanding of the disengagement process through in-depth interviews with participants who self-identify as ex-members of entatitive social groups. This information will then be used to fulfil the requirements of the PhD and research publications.

As a participant of this study, I would like to arrange for an interview to discuss your experiences in disengaging and exiting from your group. This interview will be held either face-to-face at a location convenient to you, or via skype or phone, and is expected to last about one hour. The interviews will be audio-recorded so the researcher can refer to your comments, and the tapes and notes will be stored in a locked cabinet and destroyed five years after the completion of the study. However, if you are uncomfortable with being audio-recorded the researcher can conduct the interview and take written notes. Participation is voluntary and you may withdraw your consent at any stage of the interview or research process.

Given the sensitivity of data, your participation will be kept confidential and your data will be de-identified through the use of pseudonyms and codes. During the transcription phase, if information arises that may lead to your identification the researcher will contact you to discuss the option of removing the data.

It is requested that information regarding criminality is not discussed within the interview. However, if a criminal event is part of the psychological experience of disengagement, please refrain from disclosing details of other identities and/or locations. This is to prevent any risk of the researcher being subpoenaed and being legally obliged to discuss the details of the interview.