I and the Father are one. John 10:30.

by dgp 33 Replies latest jw experiences

• dgp
    dgp

I'm not that good at quoting the Bible. I see no value in learning verses by heart, sorry. However, I just learned that in the New World Translation (the organization's Bible), John 10:30, Jesus is said to say "I and the Father are one". Question: Is Jehovah "one" with Michael the Archangel?

• cofty
    cofty

Its a favourite text of trinitarians but it reads too much into the text. The wt position that the "oneness" referred simply to unity of purpose is not unreasonable.

Jesus prayed that his followers may be "one" in the same way. Shame that they have proved to be anything but one and have slain each other in great numbers.

I will remain in the world no longer, but they are still in the world, and I am coming to you. Holy Father, protect them by the power of your name—the name you gave me—so that they may be one as we are one. John 17:11

• leec
    leec

Quote any passage from any translation fo the bible, and its interpretation, and, using the brand of "logic" JWs and other religions use to explain things their way, it can be spun into 5 different interpretations, often with one of them directly contradicting the original interpretation provided.

Some people here use similar "logic" to make political arguments ....

• dgp
    dgp

Leec, I agree with you.

The wt position that the "oneness" referred simply to unity of purpose is not unreasonable.

But, is this the real meaning? There will never be an agreement as to that.

• FuzzyPaul
    FuzzyPaul

Hebrews says that no angel was ever called son. When Jesus said "I am in the Father and the Father is in me" the WT crooks wrote "I am 'in union' with the Father and the Father is 'in union' with me". Paul, on Mar's hill in Athens during his "The Unknown God" speech that we exist "in God"