Religion after JW

by tmj4477 12 Replies latest jw experiences

• tmj4477
    tmj4477

Hello I was raised a witness from 7 to 17 then I left home and never looked back! I just never could get around the logic of no birthdays (but anniversaries), the roller coaster doctrines regarding college (they ensured various generations in to poverty with that one), the balls to use the rights that they refuse to defend (im a veteran), the whole DF thing (how unChristlike is that!), back and forth variations with blood transfusions, and last but not least using "elders" to counsel the flock without giving them proper education!

Anyway leaving this cult left me rather cold toward religion in general since 1997 but I would like to regain some type of sprituality. I am at the moment agnostic at best about god and religion and was wondering if anyone else feels/felt the same way. At the moment I am dabbling with the study of Buddhism for me thus far this religion promotes peace of mind and karma (which I have always been a advocate of) and does not focus on a deity.

So I was wondering after leaving the JWs what religion if any did any of you start practiing or dabbling in? I've heard a lot of JWs become Catholics but that just seems like going from one oppressive religion to another.

Thanks for your input!

• diamondiiz
    diamondiiz

After wts there is no room for religion in my life, if I want to read a bible I can but I will not follow some asshole telling me what I should belief. For your spiritual needs you can discuss your spiritual interests with your peers but don't need to belong to a religion. jmho

• FuzzyPaul
    FuzzyPaul

Greetings tmj4477,

The cartoon person with the mouth open reminds me that tmj is Dr speak for temporal mandibular joint syndrome. Jaw hinge disease usually caused by teeth grinding in one's sleep. That was assigned to you, yes? This may be a long read but is about a four year experience.