HDMI Cables - Don't get ripped off

by RubaDub 27 Replies latest jw friends

• RubaDub
    RubaDub

When you buy a Blu Ray player or other HD devices, you will need to purchase a cable to connect it to your TV (or however your system is configured).

Salespeople will typically try to sell you a "Monster" Cable or some high priced product. When buying my Blu Ray player for $79, they tried to sell me a cable for $59.

Beware! With digital signals, you either get the signal or you don't. This means that a $5 cable is passing the same information as a $100 cable. I'm not an electrical engineer but did a google search on "HDMI Cables Cheap" before buying one at a retailer. Read about the differences. Even experts agree that there is virtually no way of noticing a difference between a cheap cable and one you spend a lot of money on. I saw cables on the websites listed as low as $4 or $5.

Of course, when you get your new "toy" home and take it out of the box, you will want to see it work right away. So to save some money and not be tempted to buy the expensive cables, BUY THE CABLES FIRST. In fact, to save on shipping buy an extra one at the same time. You will probably need one later anyway. I bought one 3' and one 6' cable (I just needed the 3' but bought the 6' for future use). The total was $14. Add $4 shipping and the total was $18 for two cables.

Not talking about huge money here, but unless you are exceptionally testosterone driven and need to brag about the brand of cables you use, save some money and use it for something else.

Rub a Dub

• WTWizard
    WTWizard