How Many Here Actually "Studied" The Publications?

by minimus 44 Replies latest jw friends

• minimus
    minimus

When I was a teenager I extensively studied nearly every publication. I especially enjoyed looking up the root words meanings in the Hebrew and Greek of the Bible language. It gave me the flavor of a word and its origins. I would jot in my Bible all sorts of fine points and use them in research or if I commented.

I would say though that in the last 10 years of my attending, I only "studied" on the surface. I didn't do as deep a research on most things. However, I did become very knowledgable in elder requirements, especially judicial information.

When you were active, were you a good Watchtower student?

• Finally-Free
    Finally-Free

I studied extensively for the first 2-3 years. The first books I stopped reading were the yearbooks and any "experiences" because they had no resemblence to the reality in the congregation. That's when I first began to recognize the prefabricated propaganda for what it was.

W

• zombie dub
    zombie dub

I only really "studied" the rev. book as the 'meatier' stuff like the daniel and isaiah books etc. were done when I was younger and didn't use my own brain - that led to my realising it was all made up and leaving! thank god the FADS wanted to re-study that book!!

• minimus
    minimus

I hated the Yearbook too.

• snowbird
    snowbird

*raises hand*

• undercover
    undercover

Skimming and underlining doesn't constitute 'study' so no, I never really studied the publications. That's probably why it took me so long to leave.

When I started to actively doubt and research outside of the WT approved sources, that's when I really started studying the publications. And that's when I realized it was all BS.

• keyser soze
    keyser soze

Just reading and underlining whatever it was we were studying. Often times I didn't even read the scriptures that were listed in the paragraph.

• Heartbreaker
    Heartbreaker