Maybe You Would Like to KNow Why I am here

by Alternator 24 Replies latest jw experiences

• Alternator
    Alternator

I am new to the group. I joined to get some feel, at least, for how I might improve my lifelong relationship with my JW wife. I am lifelong Roman Catholic. Reading dozens of postings on the subject of relationships (marital or otherwise) between JWs and non-JWs it would seem to be a relationship doomed from the start.

I am beginning to think that our relationship is all that it can ever be. All the posts I have read indicate that I will never be socially accepted, yet my experience has been the opposite. Whenever my wife and/or her JW sisters and brothers plan a social event I have been invited and the few times I have attended, I have been treated cordially. I don’t attend very often because the conversation is always JW centered. I have always been invited to the memorial but have always declined because I have no desire to experience a symbol of what I believe to be a reality.

I did once agree to attend a convention with my wife (attend beyond driving her there and then otherwise occupying myself while the convention took place). When I entered the auditorium I was made aware of the theme “What Did Jesus Hate?” I knew I was in the wrong place. I am not sure that He ever said he hated anything. I guess one could say what He didn’t love, He hated, but His emphasis was always on love. I left before it got underway. I have not been to another convention - it seems there are new rules restrict reservations at “contracted” hotels to JWs. That would not stop me if I wanted to go - I can always make my own reservation. But the restrictions tells me I am not wanted there.