Your thoughts on Wicca?

by Texman55 24 Replies latest jw friends

• Texman55
    Texman55

Somebody who's become a friend is an ex catholic....pretty knowledgeable on all the mainstream christian doctrines and history etc....now into Wicca beliefs....not a actual member, but in tune with the ideas....mediation, incense, being close to the earth yada yada. Not real wound up with it, not pushing it on me.....and theres no way I would ever go there.....just not my style, and think I am over any organized religion at this point.

A good friend, good person.....he cant really explain why he's into all that except it feels good....but I'm a little uncomfortable.....sad to say I think it's a holdover from the JW fear and loathing of anything remotely "demonic"......I'm a good researcher, and in 15-20 minutes on the internet I know I could dig up all the lowdown on Wicca beliefs/practices/history etc.....and I know without looking it up that its all just a made-up job like so many other groups we know.....but I hold back because I'm afraid if I knew more I'd feel really uncomfortable with my friend.....I know, I know that's so lame....lol

Just wondering if any of you have any experience with the Wicca thing, and what you think about all that.

• wobble
    wobble

Wicca makes very nice baskets.

Love

Wobble

• chrisjoel
    chrisjoel

Its a very ritualistic religion from what i have heard.

• Wasanelder Once
    Wasanelder Once

I think its a great site but you have to check your facts twice. Oh wait, you didn't mean Wikipedia did you? Oops. W.Once

• Maddie
    Maddie

Texman - Funny but there was a Wiccan celebration going on near where I was staying at the weekend. Apparently it was a "Lammas Festival" which is a bit like the Harvest Festival. They were dressed in some weird gear and all their stalls sold stuff to do with witchery - pentagons, magic, tarot cards etc. It all seemed very "dark" and demonic to me.

Maddie

• fleaman uk
    fleaman uk