I tore up my Blood Card yesterday

by Awakened at Gilead 16 Replies latest jw friends

• Awakened at Gilead
    Awakened at Gilead

As you may know from my previous posts, I am fairly new to being an xJW, having taken may decision about 3 weeks ago. During this time I have read the information about blood on JWFacts and in ISofCF, for example,.... so yesterday, much to my wife's chagrin, I tore up my blood card in front of her.

I wanted to drive home a point... she will be needing surgery soon, and has told me that she does NOT want blood. I wanted to demonstrate to her that I no longer agree with the blood policy...

And I even went so far as to check about donating blood. (I can't right now, since I am taking antibiotics). So I told my wife that I wanted to donate blood, in case a JW needs a blood fraction, they can take it out of my blood...

Needless to say, she is not too happy with this decision...

• crazyblondeb
    crazyblondeb

First kudos to you....

clap1clap1clap1clap1clap1clap1

When I was nursing.......as long as she is your next of kin....or power attorney for healthcare....she can still make all your medical decisions, unless you make it clear with your doctor, and local hospital, that you WILL take blood.

• Awakened at Gilead
    Awakened at Gilead

Thanks, CBD,

I'll have to create a new Medical Directive, I guess... to avoid my wife preventing me from receiving it if I am unconscious.

A@G

• crazyblondeb
    crazyblondeb

But keep in mind, what is the chances of that being presented if something were to happen to you?

In the ER, we didn't have time to go look those things up. Just something for u to think about.

shelley

• nelly136
    nelly136

tearing up your directive is a great start, i'd definately have your medical records changed to reflect your wishes as well.

• Hope4Others
    Hope4Others

That's a humongous undertaking to make that decision, good for you

Cheers!

hope4others

• chickpea
    chickpea