Family shunning

by LunaFing 26 Replies latest jw experiences

• LunaFing
    LunaFing

Hi. This is my first time in a discussion forum. I'm an ex-JW who hasn't "officialy" left the religion because I'm afraid my family will shun me. I've been "inactive" for 10 years. My Mom has started threating me with shunning. She wants me to go back even though I have told her numerous times that I just don't believe in that religion. She has made it clear that if I don't go back soon I will have very little if any contact with my family. I'm angry. I think this practice of zero tolerance for anyone who isn't a witness is mean and hurtful. I'm a good person. I don't do things that any normal person would consider bad. I'm not a threat to my family's religious beliefs. I'm not trying to get my sisters to do anything bad. It's not fair!

• Hortensia
    Hortensia

it's not fair. It's an unjust religion and shunning is one of their really good tools to enforce compliance.

• flipper
    flipper

LUNAFING- Welcome to the board friend ! I'm sorry you are being treated this way by your mom. They truly are hateful in how they try to judge you as a " bad " person because you disagree with their beliefs. If you have been inactive for 10 years it should be pretty obvious to your mom and family that you are going to stay that way. Have they been associating regularly with you through all these years with no lapses ? If so, then I think I'd call their bluff and continue doing as you have - just don't talk of witness stuff when you are with them . Just talk about normal family stuff. You know weather, what to eat , aunt Millies hairdo, whatever , just stay off witness topics , it should work out in time. Good luck friend, Peace out, Mr. Flipper

• DT
    DT

Welcome to JWD!

This topic has a quote that might be useful to you. http://www.jehovahs-witness.com/12/153619/1.ashx