What gave you the courage to say no more

by ILikeToThink 30 Replies latest jw friends

• ILikeToThink
    ILikeToThink

Hello everyone. I’ve been lurking for a few weeks and finally thought it was about time I joined. I’ve never posted on a forum before so please be patient with me if I screw it up. A little bit about why I’m here . . .

Almost 5 years ago I met a wonderful man. About 1 year into our relationship he informs me that he used to be a JW and wanted to return. He talked to me about the "the truth" and asked me to consider a study, which I did. Long story short, I studied, attended all meetings but have not been baptized and have never gone out in service. Since I’m on this site, I’m sure you can all guess why. I DON’T WANT TO BE A JW!!! It has come to the point where I just can’t take it anymore. I have been honest with him about my feelings, about not wanting to be a JW. And somehow, he always manages to convince me to try again, try harder. He claims he loves me, wants to marry me. I say he wants to marry the image he’s created for himself of me. Not me, but me with a bible in my hand preaching with him, going to meetings. I love him very much, but this I can’t do for him.

So I guess my question to you is, what gave you the courage to say no more? I have to tell him and I have to tell the sister that I studied with. I have absolutely no idea how to go about it. I imagine the sister has an idea something is up. I have been missing a lot of meetings lately. And it’s been 4 years and no "spiritual progress." I can’t take another meeting. I can’t sit there and listen to the BS anymore. Just can’t. Any advice is much appreciated.

• averyniceguy
    averyniceguy

Welcome to the board! I used to live in Florida, what part of Florida do you live in?

• ILikeToThink
    ILikeToThink

Thank you! In Miami

• MissingLink
    MissingLink