What are you reading?

by Hortensia 52 Replies latest jw friends

• Hortensia
    Hortensia

It's rather quiet on the JWD forum tonight - probably you are all out partying, eh? I'm wondering what's in the pile of books by your chair or bed? I have a couple of mysteries, Robert Barnard's newest one and a really old Arthur Upfield. I have Who Wrote the Bible by Friedman, another mystery - a cliff Janeway Bookman novel, a novel called The Egyptologist which was on the 75% off counter at Borders, a true story called Sword and Blossom, and Rumpole and the Reign of Terror, which was also on the 75% off table at Borders. I also have a four-volume set recommended by a friend, but I can't quite get into it. Sort of an adult Harry Potter series.

• quietlyleaving
    quietlyleaving

I'm reading The Blind Man of Seville - murder mystery - by Robert Wilson

• brinjen
    brinjen

Crisis of Conscience by Ramond Franz. When I get the time, between my job and the online course I'm studying I've managed about a quarter so far.

• monophonic
    monophonic

"Divisadero" by Michael Ondaatje.

it's the first book i've read of his and i've never seen 'the english patient'. i didn't expect much, but Ondaatje is blowing me away...great read.

my "On The Road: The Original Scroll" came in the mail and i'm very excited to read that soon.

i have about 50 books in my TO-READ pile in my office....along with keeping up with the new yorker and trade magazines and the 5-10 books i receive in the mail from publishers every week, i'll catch up when i'm dead.

anyway, "Divisadero", highly recommended.

• thepackage
    thepackage

I'm reading "I hope they serve beer in hell" by Tucker Max

• BizzyBee
    BizzyBee

1. The Barbara Anderson CD
    2. Mad River, by Joy Fielding
    3. The Good Guy, by Dean Koontz
    4. Periodicals: USA Today, The Atlantic, New Yorker Magazine, WSJ
  • LtCmd.Lore
    LtCmd.Lore

Job: A Comedy of Justice

By Robert A. Heinlein.

I recommend it.

Lore

• Hortensia