Australia

by FreeGirl2006 22 Replies latest jw friends

• FreeGirl2006
    FreeGirl2006

Anyone on the board from Sydney, Australia? I am looking into maybe relocating there from the US. I am an accountant and that is one profession that has a shortage over there. I am looking for some information: cost of living, etc. to help me make my decision. Freegirl

• helncon
    helncon

HI freegirl,

There are few from sydney that post on here.

I was from 2 hours north from there.

It is a great place to live sydney. It is a bit expensive to live their especially rent and to by a house buut then it will depend on which part you wanted to live. Most i think live on the outskirts and commute to the city.

It would depend if you were wanting to start your own practice or join another firm.

But will have to get in put from other who do live there.

I hope this helps a little.

Helen

• FreeGirl2006
    FreeGirl2006

Thanks Helen! The more information the better! I appreciate any and all information. Freegirl

• ozziepost
    ozziepost

G'day freegirl,

First of all, I think this must be confirmed before you start your plans:

I am an accountant and that is one profession that has a shortage over there

Do you have an Australian accounting qualification? From what i understand, to be recognised and to practice as an accountant you need to be qualified in Australia.

Cheers, Ozzie

• HAL9000
    HAL9000

Hi Freegirl,

On what Ozziepost said, have a look at the information from the professional accountancy bodies - icaa and nia are some places to start as you will NOT get a well paying job without the right professional recognition.

Sydney is a great place, but can be very expensive, especially in the more "desirable" areas but I suppose that this is a matter of your own perspective. Personally, I live 100km west (well out of the city) and travel in by car daily.

Ever though of coming for a holiday to see what it's like? It's a long way to move if not to your liking!

h9k